Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
Home > Sports > India name unchanged 12-member squad for the second ODI against West Indies

- Sponsored -

India name unchanged 12-member squad for the second ODI against West Indies


The BCCI on Tuesday named an unchanged 12-member squad for the second ODI against West Indies. India currently leads the five-match ODI series 1-0 after registering a comprehensive 8-wicket victory in their first match in Guwahati last Sunday.

- Sponsored -

Skipper Virat Kohli and his deputy Rohit Sharma smashed centuries sending a hapless West Indies bowling attack all over the park as Indian made light work of the 323-run target to romp home with almost eight overs of play still remaining.

Also Read: India vs Windies: Harbhajan Singh predicts IPL’s next ‘million dollar baby’ 

On the back of that comfortable victory, the Indian team management has decided not to tinker with the side and hence named an unchanged 12-man shortlist for the second ODI at Vizag. The playing XI, however, will be announced by captain Kohli at the toss.

Kuldeep Yadav was left out of the opening match squad as the management opted to go with a three-man pace attack. But with the fast bowlers going for runs, Kohli could opt for the spin trio of Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, and Yadav.

Mohammed Shami was the most expensive of them going for 81 runs in 10 overs, while Umesh Yadav and Khaleel Ahmed conceded 64 in their respective overs.

West Indies scored a total of 322 runs in 50 overs powered by Shimron Hetmyer’s blistering century and vital contributions from skipper Jason Holder and Kieran Powell. But their hapless bowling attack did little to defend the mammoth score as Virat Kohli (140) and Rohit Sharma (152*) smashing record centuries to take India home.

India lost opener Shikhar Dhawan with just 10 runs on board, but the duo of Rohit and Kohli stitched a record 246-run partnership for the second wicket to seal India’s victory with eight overs still left.

Kohli’s fourth hundred in 2018 was his 36th ton overall and took his combined centuries to 60 in 346 innings. Rohit meanwhile, became the fourth Indian after Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, and Kohli to register four ODI centuries in a single calendar year.

Their 246-run stand was also India’s highest second-wicket partnership in ODIs.

Meanwhile, India will play their 950th ODI when they face West Indies on Wednesday making them the first team to achieve the milestone.

India’s 12-man shortlist: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Khaleel Ahmed

- Sponsored -