Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
Home > Sports > Journalist Rajat Sharma is now the President of Delhi & District Cricket Association

- Sponsored -

Journalist Rajat Sharma is now the President of Delhi & District Cricket Association


On Monday, 2nd July 2018, the famous and respected journalist Rajat Sharma is elected as the president of Delhi & District Cricket Association. He received 54.40 percent polling of the total votes cast.

- Sponsored -

DDCA elections took place between June 27 and June 30 and the results were declared on Monday morning. Sharma left behind the former World Cup winning Indian cricketer Madan Lal by 517 votes to register his win.

Sharma’s group swept all the 12 seats in the elections. The journalist got a total of 1531 votes while former Test cricketer Lal could only poll 1004 votes, while advocate Vikas Singh only managed to get 232 votes.

Sharma wrote in a tweet after his victory, “I thank all members of DDCA who voted in the elections and reposed their trust in us. I now invite all the members to join hands to bring about transparency in the functioning of DDCA.”

BCCI acting president CK Khanna’s wife Shashi was defeated by Rakesh Kumar Bansal was also elected as the Vice President with 48.87% votes in his favour, younger brother of former DDCA president Sneh Bansal to register his win.

Narinder Batra incidentally is a former DDCA treasurer. Also, IOA president Batra was throwing in all his might on Sharma and his panel’s candidature.

Also Read: Rahul Dravid, Ricky Ponting new installations at the ‘Hall of Fame’

Vinod Tihara, (1374 votes) who became secretary defeating nearest rival Manjeet Singh (998) by 376 votes. Then Tihara is expected to run the daily affairs of DDCA including a big say in all the representative teams especially Ranji Trophy and men’s age group.

Rajan Manchanda (1402), younger brother of former treasurer Ravinder, who beat Pushpender Chauhan (953) by 449 votes became the joint secretary. Om Prakash Sharma beat Deepak Singh by 1241-891 votes over treasurer’s post.

First-class cricketer now Coach, Sanjay Bhardwaj became director, whereas Renu Khanna became the woman director. To be noted Apruv Jain, son of former media manager Ravi Jain, who polled 1286 votes, Alok Mittal, Nitin Gupta, Shiv Nandan Sharma and Nitin Agarwal.

On May 16, 2018, Sharma applied for the post. As we all know Padma Bhushan awardee journalist is also the Chairman and Chief Editor of Hindi news channel INDIA TV.

Also Read: India go down 1-3 to australia in hockey Champions Trophy final

Content Protection by DMCA.com

- Sponsored -