Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
Home > National > Arvind Kejriwal hits out at BJP and asks, why aren’t petrol pumps shut in Mumbai?

- Sponsored -

Arvind Kejriwal hits out at BJP and asks, why aren’t petrol pumps shut in Mumbai?


Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal hit out at Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and asked, “Why aren’t petrol pumps shut in Mumbai?” Delhi CM held BJP responsible for the strike called by Delhi Petrol Dealers Association citing Delhi government’s refusal of reducing VAT tax. In the strike, 400 petrol pumps around Delhi are shut for 23 hours from 6 am on Monday.

- Sponsored -

Arvind Kejriwal took to Twitter and shared the prices of petrol being retailed at four metro cities, Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata. He stated that, despite being the lowest petrol price in Delhi among the four metro cities, there is a strike in Delhi and not anywhere else. Kejriwal blamed BJP for the strike and urged them to apologise to the people of Delhi.

Kejriwal tweeted on Monday, “Oil prices lowest in Delhi amongst the four metros. Why aren’t petrol pumps in Mumbai, which has the highest prices, on strike? Becoz Mumbai is BJP govt and BJP is behind today’s strike in Delhi. BJP MUST apologize to the people of Delhi.”

Kejriwal had earlier stated that the people of Delhi will give a befitting reply to BJP in elections. “Petrol pump owners have told us privately that this is a BJP-sponsored strike, actively supported by oil companies. In fact, the BJP has thrust it on petrol pump owners. People will give the BJP a befitting reply in the elections for continuously inconveniencing people through their dirty politics,” Kejriwal tweeted.

Delhi CM had earlier tweeted that, while PM Modi’s government had increased the excise duty on fuel by Rs. 10, it reduced the cost just Rs. 2.50 on Sunday. “It is a shame. The centre should have at least reduced prices by Rs. 10 per litre,” he tweeted.

Earlier this month, the Central Government had cut fuel prices by Rs 2.50 after curbing excise duty on the commodity by Rs 1.50 per litre.

The decision was supported by several states, including Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Assam, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Tripura, which reduced local sales tax or the VAT.

However, the Delhi government refused to reduce VAT on both petrol and diesel resulting in fuel becoming more expensive than bordering states Haryana and Uttar Pradesh.

Also read: Arun Jaitley cuts petrol, diesel prices by Rs 2.50, urges states to follow suit

- Sponsored -