Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

- Sponsored -

Chaitra Navratri 2021: Date, Significance & Colour Of The Day

Chaitra Navratri 2021: Dates, significance and everything you need to know


In India, the auspicious Navratri is celebrated twice and both times with equal joy and fervour. The Chaitra Navratri is also known as Vasant Navratri is celebrated in summer whereas Sharad Navratri is celebrated in winter. Theoretically, there are four seasonal Navaratri that fall every year. However, only two of them (Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navratri) are considered supremely significant. The other two are ‘Gupt Navratri’.

- Sponsored -

Chaitra Navratri is also known as Rama Navratri as the birthday of Lord Rama usually falls on the ninth day during the Navratri festivity. During the Chaitra Navratri, Goddess Durga or Shakti is worshipped. Devotees believe that she manifests herself in three main forms – Durga, Lakshmi and Saraswati. Chaitra Navratri usually falls in the month of March or April. According to the Hindu calendar, it is observed during the Shukla Paksha in the month of Chaitra.

The first day of Chaitra Navratri is also marked as the first day of the Hindu calendar which is observed during the full moon phase aka the Shukla Paksha phase. Each day of these nine auspicious days is dedicated to a different form of Goddess Durga.

Here is all you need to know about Chaitra Navratri:

Nine Forms Of Durga Worshipped:

  • Devi Siddhidatri
  • Devi Kushmanda
  • Devi Brahmacharini
  • Devi Shailputri
  • Devi Mahagauri
  • Devi Chandraghanta
  • Devi Skandamata
  • Devi Katyayani
  • Devi Kalaratri


Chaitra Navratri will start on April 13 and end on April 21.

Dates for Chaitra Navratri:

Day 1: 13th April (Tuesday) Pratipada

Day 2: 14th April (Wednesday) Dwitiya

Day 3: 15th April (Thursday) Tritiya

Day 4: 16th April (Friday) Chaturthi

Day 5: 17th April (Saturday) Panchami

Day 6: 18th April (Sunday) Shasthi

Day 7: 19th April 2021 (Monday) Saptami

Day 8: 20th April (Tuesday) Annapurna Ashtami -Sandhi Puja

Day 9: 21st April (Wednesday) Rama Navami

Day 10: 22nd April (Thursday) Dashami, Navratri Parana

Shubh Muhurat:

The Ghat Staphna will be done on Tuesday, April 13.

Timings: Morning 05.28 minutes to 10.14 minutes in the morning

Colours Of The Day:

1. Chaitra Navratri Day 1: April 13

Navratri colour of the day – Red

2. Chaitra Navratri Day 2: April 14

Navratri colour of the day – Royal Blue

3. Chaitra Navratri Day 3: April 15

Navratri colour of the day – Yellow

4. Chaitra Navratri Day 4: April 16

Navratri colour of the day – Green

5. Chaitra Navratri Day 5: April 17

Navratri colour of the day – Grey

6. Chaitra Navratri Day 6: April 18

Navratri colour of the day – Orange

7. Chaitra Navratri Day 7: April 19

Navratri colour of the day – White

8. Chaitra Navratri Day 8: April 20

Navratri colour of the day – Pink

9. Chaitra Navratri Day 9: April 21

Navratri colour of the day – Sky Blue

In Maharashtra Chaitra Navratri begins with Gudi Padwa and in Andhra Pradesh Chaitra Navratri begins with Ugadi.

In Kashmir, the same festival is called Navreh.

Wishing You All A Happy Chaitra Navratri.

Also Read: Navratri 2020: 7 things you should AVOID during this festival

- Sponsored -