Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

- Sponsored -

Sunil Chetri, Kamala Devi win 2017 AIFF Players of the Year


Inspirational captain Sunil Chetri was named as the 2017 All India Football Federation (AIFF) Player of the Year by the national body on Sunday.

- Sponsored -

The Arjuna award holder is a star striker for both India and Bengaluru FC. He recently became the second Indian footballer to play 100 international games after Baichung Bhutia.

Also read: Mesut Ozil retires from International football owing to Racism

While Chetri was declared the 2017 AIFF Player of the Year in the men’s category, Kamala Devi was adjudged the 2017 AIFF woman Player of the Year. Young Anirudh Thapa, who had impressed everyone with his performance in the four-nation Intercontinental Cup which India won, was declared as the 2017 Emerging Player of the Year and E Panthoi was named as the 2017 woman Emerging Player of the Year.

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) executive committee’s meeting chaired by president Praful Patel met in Mumbai on Sunday. Other than Patel, AIFF senior vice president Subrata Dutta, general secretary Kushal Das, vice presidents Larsing Ming, KMI Mather, Manavendra Singh and treasurer ZA Thakur were present in the meeting. Among the members who were absent from the meeting were AR Khaleel, Sanjay Behera, Deepak Kumar, Lalnghinglova Hmar and Sara Pilot.

2017 AIFF Award winners:

2017 AIFF Award for Best Grassroots Development Programme: Kerala FA.

2017 AIFF Award for long-time contribution to Indian Football: Hero Motocorp.

2017 AIFF Award for Best Assistant Referee: Sumanta Datta (Assam)

2017 AIFF Award for Best Referee: C R Srikrishna.

2017 AIFF Emerging Woman Footballer of the Year: E Panthoi.

2017 AIFF Emerging Player of the Year: Anirudh Thapa.

2017 AIFF Woman Footballer of the Year: Kamala Devi.

2017 AIFF Player of the Year: Sunil Chetri.

- Sponsored -