Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
Home > World > India elected unopposed to non-permanent seat in UN Security Council

- Sponsored -

India elected unopposed to non-permanent seat in UN Security Council

India secures seat as non-permanent member of UN Security Council; elected unopposed


India was elected unopposed to a non-permanent seat in the United Nations Security Council (UNSC). The nation won with 184 of the 193 votes for a two-year term from the Asia-Pacific category.  The minimum requirement to get elected was 128 votes. The election was held at the UN headquarters in New York.

- Sponsored -

T S Tirumurti, the Indian permanent representative to the UN said in a video-recorded message, “We have received overwhelming support. We are deeply humbled by the tremendous confidence member states of the United Nations have reposed in India,”

India was a candidate for a non-permanent seat from the Asia-Pacific category for the 2021-22 term. It was the sole candidate vying for the lone seat from the grouping.

India has returned to the UNSC after a decade starting January 2021. The last time India served at the UNSC was between 2011 and 2012. Previously, India has been elected as a non-permanent member of the Council for the years 1950-1951, 1967-1968. Also 1972-1973, 1977-1978 and 1984-1985, 1991-1992.

Along with India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway also won the Security Council elections.

The UNSC has 15 members, out of which five are permanent members: the United States, the United Kingdom, France, Russia, and China. The 10 other members are non-permanent. Half of them are elected every year, each for a two-year term.

Also Read: India: Reform UN Security Council before it gets diminished

Content Protection by DMCA.com

- Sponsored -