Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

- Sponsored -

71 years long wait ends: India wins first ever Test series in Australia


Ending the long wait of at least 71 years, Indian cricket team won their first ever Test series in Australia. Notably, India settled for a 2-1 series victory after a persistent drizzle prevented a ball being bowled on the final day of the fourth and final Test in Sydney.

- Sponsored -

The visitors would have harboured intentions of taking the series 3-1 going into Monday, the final day of the Sydney Test. They needed 10 Australian wickets to make that happen, but the play was abandoned without a ball being bowled. The gloom and rain couldn’t eclipse the sheen of India’s monumental achievement, however.

Riding on Cheteshwar Pujara’s 193 and Rishabh Pant’s 159*, India posted a mammoth 622/7 before declaring. A Kuldeep Yadav-inspired show had Australia bowled out for 300, as the left-arm wrist-spinner claimed five wickets in his very first effort on Australian soil.

Keen on pressing for another victory, skipper Virat Kohli had enforced the follow-on on the fourth day, but the players were taken off for bad light just four overs into Australia’s second innings. The play never resumed thereafter.

The rain never got too heavy on the fifth day but right from the start a nagging drizzle played spoilsport, not letting the players get back out on the field on what could have been another exciting day’s cricket. Yet, India will be very delighted by the magnitude of their achievement.

Virat Kohli’s team, No.1 on the MRF Tyres ICC Test Team Rankings, thus retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. The Indian team also became the first Asian side to register a win Down-Under. Cheteshwar Pujara, the best batsman of the tour, was named Player of the Match, as well as Player of the Tournament for his three centuries.

Also Read: Smriti Mandhana bags ICC Women’s Cricketer and ODI Player of the year awards

- Sponsored -