Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

- Sponsored -

Mizoram Assembly elections 2018 LIVE UPDATES: Polling concludes with 73% electorate


The voting for Mizoram Assembly elections has begun for all 40 constituencies and is currently underway. A total of 209 candidates are in the fray in Mizoram. The Congress has fielded 40 candidates while the BJP and MNF are contesting in 39 and 40 constituencies respectively. Around 7.7 lakh voters will vote today.

- Sponsored -

In the battle for supremacy in the election to the 40-member Mizoram Assembly, Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla of the Congress is seeking a hat-trick.

Mizoram Assembly elections 2018: LIVE UPDATES

16:00 PM: Polling concluded with 73% electorate.

15:30 PM: “58 percent voter turnout recorded till 3 pm,” the office of Chief Electoral Officer said.

15:00 PM: Update

Tuikum 56.00% Hrangturzo 55.00% South tuipui 51.00% Lunglei North 54.00% Lunglei East 53.00% Lunglei West 45.00% Lunglei South 48.00% Thorang 59.00% West tuipui 53.00% Tuichawng 56.62% Lawngtlai West 68.61% Lawngtlai East 47.52% Siaha 50.10%

14:55 PM: Former chief minister and opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) chief Zoramthanga was among the first voters to exercise franchise at 7.00 am. Zoramthanga cast his vote at Ramhlun polling booth in Aizawl North-II constituency.

14:00 PM: 49% polling recorded in Mizoram till 1 pm, say election officials.

13:45 PM: Darrohnuni, 106 yrs old voter at Kawrthah Polling station III in Mizoram.

13:15 PM: Forty-two VVPATs, 25 ballot units and 19 control units were being replaced in various polling stations, the Chief Electoral Officer Ashish Kundra said.

12:30 PM:

11:55 AM: Voting in some booths delayed due to fault in 42 VVPATs, 19 control units and 25 ballot units.

11:50 AM: Mizoram has one all-women polling booth in each of its 40 constituencies this time.

11:45 AM: The Chief Minister of Meghalaya, Conrad Sangma has urged voters to come out in large numbers “to exercise their franchise for a stronger democracy.”  Sangma’s National People’s Party (NPP) was launched in the state in September, and is looking to expand its footprint in Mizoram.

11:30 AM: 29 percent polling reported in Mizoram till 11 am.

11:15 AM: “Around 25 percent of the 7,68,181 voters cast their votes by 10 am,” says deputy additional chief electoral officer CC Lalchhuangkina.

10:45 AM: Mizoram have 40 pink polling booths — a pink polling station for each constituency. These booths are locally known as Dingdi in Mizoram. Named after a wild flower commonly available in the state, Dingdi is used by poets to depict beautiful women.

10:00 AM: visuals from Kahnmun.

9:30 AM: 15 percent turnout reported till 9 am, according to Election Commission officials.

9:15 AM: Rahul Gandhi tweets, “My appeal to the voters of Mizoram: Your vote is not just your constitutional right, it is a blessing & a weapon. Use it wisely today! Vote for peace, prosperity and progress. My best wishes and warmest regards to all my brothers & sisters in Mizoram.”

9:00 AM: A 92-year-old waiting to cast her vote in Lunglei.

8:45 AM: Dharmendra Pradhan tweets, “Every vote counts and contributes in the development of your state. I appeal to the people of Mizoram to come out & cast their precious vote today & bring a Govt. committed towards the development of Mizoram and the North-East.”

8:30 AM: I request my sisters and brothers of Mizoram, particularly the dynamic youth of the state, to turn out in large numbers and vote, tweets PM Narendra Modi.

8:00 AM: Polling underway in Mizoram, visuals of voters in Zarkawt-II, Aizawl.

7:35 AM: “As voting in Mizoram begins, I appeal all my sisters and brothers of state to turnout in record numbers and vote. Your one vote will lay the foundation of a prosperous and corruption free Mizoram,” BJP president Amit Shah has tweeted.

7:00 AM: Voting has begun in all 40 constituencies of Mizoram. The polling will happen till 4.00 pm.

6:55 AM: An additional 15 special booths have been setup at Kanhmun village in Mamit district for the 12,026 Bru voters coming from six camps in Tripura.

6:45 AM: Mizoram has 7.70 lakh registered voters who will cast their franchise in 1,164 polling booths across the state.

6:30 AM: Major parties and the number of seats they are contesting:

MNF: 40

BJP: 39

ZPM: 35

Congress: 40

A total of 209 candidates are in fray.

Also Read: Mizoram Assembly elections 2018: Voting for all 40 constituencies underway

- Sponsored -