Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
Home > National > Three islands of Andaman and Nicobar to be renamed soon

- Sponsored -

Three islands of Andaman and Nicobar to be renamed soon


The Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led central government will soon rename the three islands of Andaman and Nicobar.

- Sponsored -

Andaman and Nicobar’s Ross Island, Neil Island and Havelock Island will be renamed as Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Island, Shaheed Dweep and Swaraj Dweep respectively. The islands will be renamed reportedly to mark the 75th year of freedom fighter Subhas Chandra Bose hoisting the national flag at Port Blair.

It is to be noted that Subhas Chandra Bose had hoisted the flag at Port Blair on December 30, 1943. This was done after the Japenese captured the area during the Second World War. Bose had reportedly suggested back then that the Andaman and Nicobar Islands be renamed as Shahid and Swaraj Dweep.

Last year, a BJP leader had made a demand in the Rajya Sabha to change the name of popular tourist destination Havelock Island. Lawmaker LA Ganesan said naming a place after a person who had fought Indian patriots in 1857 was a matter of shame.

Havelock Island is named after British general, Sir Henry Havelock, who served in India during the British administration. It is the largest island in the union territory.

Also Read: Bhim Army wants to rename Dadar station as Chaityabhoomi

- Sponsored -