Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

- Sponsored -

Vijay Hazare: Prithvi Shaw shines in Mumbai’s semi-final win over Hyderabad


Young Prithvi Shaw and Shreyas Iyer scored half-centuries as Mumbai beat Hyderabad by 60 runs in a rain-affected semi-final clash of the Vijay Hazare Trophy in Bengaluru on Wednesday.

- Sponsored -

Chasing 247, Mumbai were cruising towards victory when rain halted play with them comfortably placed at 155 for two. Skipper Iyer was at batting at 55 alongside Ajinkya Rahane (17) and had already added 73 runs for the third wicket.

With the incessant rain, the play could not be resumed and hence Mumbai were declared the winner by VJD method.

Openers Rohit Sharma (17) and Shaw (61) had earlier added another 73 for the first wicket, setting the tone for Mumbai before leg-spinner Mehdi Hasan struck twice. He dismissed both Sharma and Shaw to leave Mumbai at 82/2 before the Iyer-Rahane partnership settled things down.

Shaw, however, continued his rich form and registered another half-century with eight fours and two sixes. He has already amassed 348 runs in the tournament.

Also Read: Prithvi Shaw has traits of Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag and Brian Lara, reckons Ravi Shastri

Earlier, electing to bat first Hyderabad could only post 246 for the loss of eight wickets in 50 overs, despite Rohit Rayudu scoring a brilliant century.

His knock of 132 from 121 balls had eight boundaries and four sixes. But he received little help from the other batsmen. Openers Tanmay Agarwal (11) and Akshath Reddy (7) were dismissed early. Bavanaka Sandeep (29) then added a vital 50-run partnership with Rayudu.

But with the other batsmen faltering, Hyderabad were at one stage reduced to 123/6 before Rayudu added consecutive 50-plus run partnership with Akash Bhandari and Mehdi Hasan to take his side to a respective total.

Tushar Deshpande was the most impressive bowler for Mumbai with figures of 3/55, while Royston Dias returned with 2/43.

Dhawal Kulkarni, Shivam Dubey and Shams Mulani also chipped in with a wicket each.

Image Source: Yahoo Cricket

- Sponsored -