Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

- Sponsored -

World Cup 2018: Mbappe imitates Brazil legend Pele; Modric win ‘Golden Ball’


One smiled while the other didn’t and by the look on their face you could make-out that France had beaten Croatia 4-2 to clinch their second World Cup trophy.

- Sponsored -

Kylian Mbappe showed most of his front line teeth as he posed for photographs holding the ‘FIFA Young Player trophy‘ even as Luka Modric standing beside him looked with a grim in the face.

The Fence sensation was a world champion at 19, Modric who might have just played his final World Cup match was declared the ‘Player of the tournament.’

Mbappe also became the second French player in a row to win the award, after his team-mate Paul Pogba had claimed the prize four years ago.

The award which can only be won by players born on or after January 1, is given to the most outstanding young player of the World Cup and Mbappe was a deserving receipent.

The 19-year-old has scored four times in seven appearances, including one in the final. He also is one of the three teenagers to play in a World Cup final. Football greats Pele and Italian Guiseppe Bergomi are the other two.

Mbappe also became first teenager to score twice in an a World Cup game since Pele in 1958.

Croatia captain Luka Modric was awarded the ‘Golden Ball‘ for his terrific performance at Russia 2018.

The Real Madrid midfider led his team to their maiden World Cup appearance. However , he failed to inspire them to a beat France, who scored four against them.

Also Read: France beat Croatia 4-2 to win World Cup

Lionel Messi, who led Argentina to the final last term was awarded the olden Ball in 2014.

England’s Harry Kane won the ‘Golden Boot‘ for his six goals, three of which came from penalties. The Tottenham striker is the second Enish player after Gary Lineker to win the prestigious award.

He scored a hat-trick against Panama and another brace in the opening encounter against Tunisia. Another goal came from the penalty spot against Colombia. After a great start Kane had however failed to score a single goal in his final three knockout games at the World Cup.

Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois won the ‘Golden Glove‘ award for being the best goalkeeper at the 2018 World Cup.

The Chelsea custodian was influential in his side’s run to the semi-finals, making some brilliant saves to edge out Hugo Lloris and Daniel Subasic for the prize.

He kept clean sheets agaisnt Panama and England twice and made as many as mine saves against Brazil in the quarter-final.

Other Awards:-

Eden Hazard (Belgium) – Silver Ball Award

Antoine Griezmann (France) – Bronze Ball and Silver Boot

Romelu Lukaku (Belgium) – Bronze Ball

Spain – FIFA Fair Play Award


- Sponsored -