Facebook is in the process of developing a new unsend feature for Messenger. This means you’ll soon be able to unsend Facebook messages within a preset grace period.
According to Facebook, the unsend functionality will give you 10 minutes to delete a message after it has been sent. The message will be deleted from your Messenger thread, as well as the recipient’s.
A Twitter user spotted the feature listed as “coming soon” in the release notes for version 191.0 of Messenger’s iOS client. “Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it,” read the description.
An unsend functionality has been a hot-button issue for Facebook since April, when it was revealed that the company had been deleting messages sent by Mark Zuckerberg, despite not offering such a functionality to the general user.
Notably, the WhatsApp unsend feature allows users to delete a message up to one hour after it has been sent. Snapchat added a similar feature earlier this year as well.