Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

- Sponsored -

Female Indian politicians who defy their age


Getting old is inevitable, but getting old with style and charm, is what these Indian women politicians have seemed to achieve. With grace and perfection reeking from their dynamic personas, these politicians signify the modern day India.  History has borne witness to the brilliance of women in politics, time and again. From Marie Antoinette to Queen Elizabeth, women across the world have often held the political sceptre firmly in their hands whenever needed. India has also seen such influential female politicians from time to time. Their schemes and political traits have been appreciated by many and criticised by many more. However, their contribution to the development of the country can never be overlooked.
Here’s a glance at 7 Indian women politicians who have aged like fine wine. They have gotten old, but still have an aura of charm and a great persona.

- Sponsored -

Sonia Gandhi

Sonia Gandhi, born 9 December 1946, is an Indian politician of Italian descent. A member of the Nehru–Gandhi family, she is a former president of the Indian National Congress. In August 2011, she underwent successful surgery for cervical cancer. She looks resplendent as ever.

Priyanka Gandhi

Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, born 12 January 1972, is an Indian politician, daughter of Rajiv Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi. She also serves as Trustee of Rajiv Gandhi Foundation. She is the granddaughter of Feroze and Indira Gandhi, and is a member of the wider Nehru-Gandhi family.

Mamata Banerjee

Mamata Banerjee, born 5 January 1955, is an Indian politician serving as the 8th and current Chief Minister of West Bengal since 2011. She is the first woman to hold the office. She founded the party All India Trinamool Congress (AITMC or TMC) in 1997 after separating from the Indian National Congress, and became its chairperson. She is often referred to as Didi.

Also Read: Should these Bollywood Actresses be bikini-clad if their roles demand it?

Kirron Kher

Kirron Anupam Kher, born 14 June 1955, is an Indian theatre, film and television actress, a TV talk show host and a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party. In May 2014, she was elected to the Lok Sabha, the lower house of Indian Parliament from Chandigarh.

Hema Malini

Hema Malini, born 16 October 1948 is an Indian actress,writer, lecturer, director, producer, dancer and politician. In 1963 she made her acting debut in the Tamil film “Ithu Sathiyam” as a dancer and supporting actress. In February 2004, Malini officially joined the BJP.[35] From 2003 to 2009, she served as an MP to the upper house – the Rajya Sabha, having been nominated by the then President of India, Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam.
Smriti Irani

Smriti Zubin Irani, born Smriti Malhatra, on 23 March 1976, is an Indian politician, former model, television actress and producer. Irani is a Member of Parliament, being elected to the Rajya Sabha from the state of Gujarat. She is the current Textiles Minister in the Government of India. Irani joined the Bharatiya Janata Party in 2003. She became the vice-president of the Maharashtra Youth Wing in 2004.

Meenakshi Lekhi

Dynamic and versatile face of BJP, Meenakshi Lekhi is the national spokesperson of the party. A Supreme Court lawyer, Lekhi is a member of Parliament from the New Delhi parliamentary constituency and has earned the distinction of defeating veteran Congress leader Ajay Maken with a margin of over 1.5 lakh votes in her first Lok Sabha election.


- Sponsored -