Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

- Sponsored -

Delhi: Jawahalal Nehru University (JNU) to contest students’ union elections on Friday


The Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) will head to polls on Friday, with eight candidates from the college contesting the students’ union polls for four top seats.

- Sponsored -

All arrangements for the elections have been made by the election authorities for the Jawaharlal Nehru Students’ Union (JNUSU) polls, reported PTI. Many eyes will certainly be at the elections which have gained country-wide attractions following the controversies that have rocked the politically active campus.

A presidential debate was also held on Wednesday night, where the union members contesting for the presidential post answered questions thrown at them by the general audience. As a part of their campaigning, this debate precedent the US presidential elections rules.

The PTI report states that the Left-backed students’ unions such as the All India Students’ Association (AISA), Students Federation of India (SFI), Democratic Students Federation (DSF) and All India Students Federation (AISF) have come together to form the United-Left alliance.

The newly formed alliance together have selected a presidential candidate, while one from each of the unions will contest for the other three posts.

N Sai Balaji of School of International Studies will represent the alliance as its presidential candidate, while DSF’s Sarika Chaudhary will contest for the post of vice president. SFI’s Aejaz Ahmad Rather will contest for the post of general secretary and ASIF’s Amutha Jayadeep will be contesting for the joint secretary’s position.

All of the three latter candidates are from the School of Social Sciences.

Meanwhile, The Congress-backed National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) has nominated Vikas Yadav of the School of International Studies for the president’s post, while Lijy K Babu of the School of Life Sciences will vie for the post of vice president, states the news agency.

Md Mofizul Alam will be contesting for the post of secretary, while Ngurang Reena of the School of International Studies will be contesting for the post of joint secretary.

In the third union, the RSS-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has selected Lalit Pandey for the president’s post, Geetashri Boruah for the vice-president’s post, Ganesh Gurjar for the post of general secretary and Venkat Choubey for joint secretary’s post.

Also Read: Denied entry into JNU event, northeastern students demand apology from ABVP

Image Source: DNA India

- Sponsored -

where to buy viagra buy generic 100mg viagra online
buy amoxicillin online can you buy amoxicillin over the counter
buy ivermectin online buy ivermectin for humans
viagra before and after photos how long does viagra last
buy viagra online where can i buy viagra