Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

- Sponsored -

Karnataka Imposes Night Curfew In Bengaluru, 6 Other Cities

Night Curfew In Bengaluru, 6 Other Cities In Karnataka From Tomorrow


Karnataka is among 10 states besides Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Gujarat, Kerala and Punjab that have shown a steep rise in the daily COVID-19 cases. Active cases in Karnataka have now crossed 50,000. To curb the rising cases the State government has imposed a Night Curfew in Bengaluru and 6 other cities.

- Sponsored -

The night curfew will be enforced from 10 pm to 5 am starting Saturday(April 10), the government announced on Thursday. The decision was taken minutes after Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged states to announce fresh curbs to tackle soaring COVID-19 cases.

Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa announced that the curfew will be in place till April 20. It will also be imposed in Mysuru, Mangaluru, Kalaburagi, Bidar, Tumakuru and Udupi-Manipal. He added that the “Essential services will continue.”

In a media interaction, the CM said, essential services would be allowed during the curfew period. He added that the people should not give room for such an action (lockdown) and should wear masks, maintain social distancing, and not gather at a place. He also warned of extending restrictions to the entire state if the spread wasn’t checked.

On April 8, Karnataka reported 6,570 new COVID-19 cases that pushed the caseload to 10,40,130. As many as 36 deaths were reported during the period, taking the to 12,767.

This is the third consecutive day that the southern state has reported over 6,000 fresh cases. Bengaluru alone has accounted for 4,422 cases. The state government will soon start door to door survey to identify positive cases. They will also conduct 1 lakh tests in a day.

Also Read: Karnataka Bus Strike: State Govt Warns KSRTC Workers of Strict Action

- Sponsored -